Shout out to Deborah Halverson

I first heard about Deborah Halverson’s new book, Writing Young Adult Fiction for Dummies, at a San Diego chapter SCBWI meeting where she spoke. Purchased it for my Nook at the Barns and Nobel website shortly after it came out, and all I can say is WOW! Read lots of ‘how to’ books on writing. This one knocks the socks of most of them. Within a few days of reading it, I found myself leaving her book open on my Nook next to my netbook (say that ten times fast), using the navigable table of contents to go to chapters that are specific to what I’m working on at the moment. Halverson’s simple, clear, and–dare I say–genius advice has helped me to narrow my seventy word hook down to under forty (and it looks so much better), to weed out the areas of my novel where I am telling (the infamous ‘show don’t tell’ issue) and strengthen my character arc. Where has this book been all my life (it is really helping, but . . . does that make me a dummy?:o). Anyways, I just wanted to say thanks Deborah Halverson.

About nwharrisbooks

Born and raised in a small town in north Georgia, my imagination evolved under the swaying pines surrounding my family's log home. On summer days that were too hot, winter days that were too cold, and every night into the wee hours I read books. My face was rarely seen, always hidden behind a binding. I was nurtured on fiction. Now it is my turn to create some of my own. I live in sunny southern California with my beautiful wife and two perfect children (I may be biased). I write like I read, constantly. I studied anthropology at UCSB and medicine at SUNY Buffallo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shout out to Deborah Halverson

  1. Goodness, Neil, you are so kind to let me know the book is working for you. Wow, I’m just blown away. You’ve made my day. I’m thrilled to hear it’s made such an impact on your writing. Picture me skipping about my living room now.

Leave a Reply

