Exciting Five Star Reviews of Joshua’s Tree!

Wanted to share some of the reviews my debut novel, Joshua’s Tree, has been getting. So exciting to see my baby out in the world! 
joshuastree1600x2400(1)
5.0 out of 5 stars Great summer read July 7, 2013
Through his engaging characters and descriptive details, N.W. Harris pulls you into the imaginative world he has created. And, the plot is definitely original. This book is hard to put down and will leave you chomping at the bit for the next book.
…so cool…
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! July 6, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase
This book immediately gets started with action. It keeps you interested until the end leaving you ready for the next book. I highly enjoyed this book and expect great things from this author. Hurry up with the sequel…
…made my face hurt I smiled so big…
Below are some old reviews from the 2012 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. Of course, Joshua’s Tree has been much revised since then and the issues the expert reviewers commented on have been fixed in the published version.

ABNA Expert Reviewer

What is the strongest aspect of this excerpt?

The strongest aspect of this excerpt is the way the descriptions paint a picture in my mind. The author has done a great job of writing in a way that brings everything to life.

What aspect needs the most work?

There were at least two typos, where a word was missing. The two that stood out to me were, “His strides lengthened, claws kicking up clumps fertile black earth from the savannah” and “Her hands trembling, she slipped the bracelet off her mother;s wrist put it on her own”. These typos are the only things I have to criticize.

What is your overall opinion of this excerpt?

I thought it was well-written, intriguing, gory, and I would definitely keep reading if I was able to. It’s a very original plot and I enjoyed reading it.

ABNA Expert Reviewer

What is the strongest aspect of this excerpt?

The plot was the strongest aspect. The pitch hooked me and the following few chapters just sealed the deal. The author did a fabulous job of sucking me in to the story and want to know what happened to Nadia and Josh next.

What aspect needs the most work?

I couldn’t f ind a weak point. To me the story began much like other YA fantasy or sci-fi novels, I was hooked anad I wanted to read more.

What is your overall opinion of this excerpt?

Overall this was one of the stronger excerpts I’ve read. I was hooked, I loved that the girl saved the boy, and I loved that the pitch merely wet my appetite for what was to come next.

 

About nwharrisbooks

Born and raised in a small town in north Georgia, my imagination evolved under the swaying pines surrounding my family's log home. On summer days that were too hot, winter days that were too cold, and every night into the wee hours I read books. My face was rarely seen, always hidden behind a binding. I was nurtured on fiction. Now it is my turn to create some of my own. I live in sunny southern California with my beautiful wife and two perfect children (I may be biased). I write like I read, constantly. I studied anthropology at UCSB and medicine at SUNY Buffallo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Exciting Five Star Reviews of Joshua’s Tree!

  1. Ste J says:

    It sounds awesome….come on pay day, where are you when I need you…..

  2. Kira says:

    These are great reviews. Your book sounds wonderful. Congrats on your 5 star rating!!

  3. Ms. Vee says:

    Hello. Best of luck with your book. It sounds intriguing. Thank you for liking We Are Sexy. I will revisit.

  4. Paul J. Stam says:

    I am following you and always interested in your progress. I’m so glad you liked “Telephone Killer-3” on papermudandme.wordpress.com. I shall try to put up a little from that book each week. – Aloha – pjs.

  5. Paul J. Stam says:

    Those are great reviews. It is always encouraging to get them. I want to thank you again for liking one of my post, this time it was “River Congo – Escerpt 3” on ppermudandme.wordpress.com. If you are interested strictly in my writing post and not my pottery posts you may want to follow writingiam.wordpress.com. That blog is only about my writing. – Aloha – pjs.

Leave a Reply

