Getting Over the Hump–Writing a Rough Draft

The rough draft for The Last Orphans Book II is now at 38,000 words. 38k words in two and a half weeks–ouch my aching frontal lobe! I call it power writing; charge headlong into the story, use my outline as cannon fodder, and don’t look back until I’m done with the rough draft.

Currently, I’m playing with titles for book two. What sounds most appealing to you?
1. Harvest, The Last Orphans Book II
2. The Harvest, The Last Orphans Book II
3. Human Harvest, The Last Orphans Book II

I’d appreciate any input from ya’ll, titles are always a pain to come up with and yet they are so important. Back to writing, I’ll resurface in a week or so when this rough draft is complete. 🙂

Enjoy the irrelavant pic below!

IMG_1406

About nwharrisbooks

Born and raised in a small town in north Georgia, my imagination evolved under the swaying pines surrounding my family's log home. On summer days that were too hot, winter days that were too cold, and every night into the wee hours I read books. My face was rarely seen, always hidden behind a binding. I was nurtured on fiction. Now it is my turn to create some of my own. I live in sunny southern California with my beautiful wife and two perfect children (I may be biased). I write like I read, constantly. I studied anthropology at UCSB and medicine at SUNY Buffallo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Getting Over the Hump–Writing a Rough Draft

  1. I vote for just “Harvest”, as it seems stronger than “The Harvest”, and for me, “Human Harvest” doesn’t leave much to the imagination. (Though to warn you, I may be biased, as here are a few of my writing project titles: “Mettle”, “Mortality”, “Exemplary”, “Graffiti”, etc.)

    And 38k words in two and a half weeks… That’s impressive, wow! Well done!

  2. J.G. Chayko says:

    I prefer “Harvest” as well…the simpler it is, the more powerful it is…

  3. Thanks J.G.! I’m thinking “Harvest” will be the winner.

  4. Human Harvest definitely gets my attention. The other two choices are somewhat vague. Like you, I’m headlong into a first draft and trying to move as quickly as possible, but right now, I’m in a lull. Not in a block, but somewhat slowed down (I don’t believe in writer’s block — sometimes we just need to think, and some people call that a block). Hopefully, I’ll be able to move over the hump this weekend. Good luck with yours!

    • Thanks for your input Dawn! Yes I like writer’s lull better than writer’s block as well. I don’t believe in writers block either I believe we just have to keep pushing and inspirational will flow if we persist. 🙂

  5. apotts31 says:

    I like the harvest, but I believe harvest better fits with current trends. Human harvest, in my opinion is off putting. I maybe gives away too much. Nice work.

  6. I just recently stumbled upon your blog and I must say that I am very impressed. 38k written words in two weeks time is superb. I have yet to read your stuff, but am planning on starting today!!! Everything looks so enticing and I cannot wait to get cozy and read more of what you have to offer!!! Oh, and as far as your title goes, I also vote for just Harvest! The flow of it sounds better to me as a fellow writer. Anywho, I look forward to talking and connecting with you more in the future!

Leave a Reply

