Book Review–The Key by Jennifer Anne Davis

51-oOXqcD7L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-64,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

“The Key” pulled me in immediately and didn’t let me go. Rema lives on a medieval horse farm and dreams of traveling to far away lands, of seeing the world. She loves her aunt and uncle and loves the horses, but her family is in a hurry to marry her off and she’s not ready.

Darmik is a prince and the brother of the future king. His father rules cruelly, taxing the people into poverty and pushing them to the brink of revolution. Young Darmik disagrees with the abuse of power, but he also wants to be loyal to his father. Darmik is in charge of the army, and he struggles to fulfill his duty and keep the peace.

When the wicked king-to-be abducts Rema to the palace and demands she marry him just to spite Darmik, the world is turned upside down. Rema doesn’t want to marry the prince, or anyone else for that mater, but she’ll do whatever it takes to protect her family. Goodhearted Darmik is falling for her too and wants to protect her, but the kingdom is coming apart at the seams and he’s supposed to be keeping order and not committing treason.

I don’t want to give away any more, so I’ll just say there is plenty of conflict, and the characters are developed perfectly such that I really felt a connection with them. I also really enjoyed the duel protagonists with chapters in their own POV as it deepened my connection the characters and the story. I’m dying for the next book in the series, so please Ms. Davis, don’t keep me waiting too long. This book is gets an easy 5 stars.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Key-True-Reign-Series-ebook/dp/B00GOHVFPW/ref=cm_pdp_rev_itm_img_1

See my July 2013 interview with Jennifer Anne Davis here:

https://nwharrisbooks.wordpress.com/2013/07/10/interview-with-writer-jennifer-anne-davis/ 

About nwharrisbooks

Born and raised in a small town in north Georgia, my imagination evolved under the swaying pines surrounding my family's log home. On summer days that were too hot, winter days that were too cold, and every night into the wee hours I read books. My face was rarely seen, always hidden behind a binding. I was nurtured on fiction. Now it is my turn to create some of my own. I live in sunny southern California with my beautiful wife and two perfect children (I may be biased). I write like I read, constantly. I studied anthropology at UCSB and medicine at SUNY Buffallo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review–The Key by Jennifer Anne Davis

  1. Paul J. Stam says:

    Sounds like an interesting book. – I want to thank you for liking my post “River Congo – Excerpt 17” on writingiam.workdpress.com. – Thank you again and Aloha – pjs.

Leave a Reply

