Philip Coleman–Author of Mystery Novels for Teens

The_Master's_Book_200x300

 

Today, author of teen novels Philip Coleman has stopped by my blog to answer some questions and talk about his young adult mystery novel, The Master’s Book. Readers, leave a comment for a chance to win a copy of Philip’s e-book. Philip, tell us about your debut novel.

Some people have described it as “Da Vinci Code” for younger readers. Although I’m not especially a Dan Brown fan, I do like the way that his Robert Langdon novels reach into the past. My story concerns Sean, newly arrived in Brussels from Ireland, who finds out that a murder was committed in his new home. He and Stephanie, a classmate of English and Congolese parents, then stumble on a precious medieval illuminated manuscript. An attempted kidnapping and a theft follow, prompting Sean and Stephanie to try to piece together where the manuscript came from and who wants it so badly.

Wow! That sounds like a good read. I’ve read most of Dan Brown’s novels and like a good mystery with a historical twist. Tell us how it is you came about that you became an author. What was your journey?

I wrote a little in my teens and always dreamed of returning to it. When my daughter persuaded me to read the trilogy His Dark Materials, by Philip Pullman, which proved to be my inspiration. My first two attempts were fantasy and anyone who has read the trilogy won’t be surprised that the lead characters were feisty girls (as is Stephanie in The Master’s Book). I had a couple of near misses with my second attempt but when it was time to move on, I decided to revisit the time I’d lived in Brussels with my children for material (though they are not like Sean and his sister). Despite its reputation as the capital of faceless EU bureaucracy, Brussels (and even more so the nearby towns of Bruges and Ghent) have deep roots going back to the Middle Ages, so there’s plenty to draw on.

I agree, there is nothing like an old city to get the creative juices flowing. Every time I go on vacation and see something new, I come back with several new story ideas. What do you think is the most important thing a newly published author can do to promote his/her book?

I’m still learning that myself so I should be taking advice, not giving it! I am using blogs like this, I’ve posted my book on Goodreads and I’ve just launched my new website.

Marketing a book seems to be a full time job in and of itself. I’ve visited your website and it looks great. So what’s in the future? Are you working on anything right now?

I’m almost finished a very rough first draft of a sequel to The Master’s Book. It concerns a different aspect of Belgium’s past; namely, the African colonial connection, specifically Rwanda (there is very little about Belgium’s colonial history that is pretty, unfortunately).

I’m not sure colonial history for any nation is all that pleasant, but conflict keeps the pages turning, so I expect it will be a good read. Now tell us where we can find your book. And while you’re at it, your website, and FB page.

You can get it on Amazon, at http://www.amazon.com/The-Masters-Book-ebook/dp/B00BTKF2BM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1374224959&sr=8-1&keywords=the+master%27s+book+by+philip+coleman or whatever other Amazon site your Kindle subscribes to. Nook readers can get it from Barnes and Noble. However, the best deal is from the publisher’s own website: http://museituppublishing.com/bookstore2/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=608&category_id=53&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=1

My Facebook page is www.facebook.com/philipcolemanauthor . You can find me on Twitter at @PColemanAuthor. And my own website is just up, at http://www.philipcolemanauthor.com/

DLP_9840

Philip, it’s been just awesome talking to you. I love mystery novels and yours caught my attention straight away. Keep on writing! Readers, don’t forget to leave a comment to win a e-copy of The Master’s Book.

Thank you. It’s been a pleasure.

 

About nwharrisbooks

Born and raised in a small town in north Georgia, my imagination evolved under the swaying pines surrounding my family's log home. On summer days that were too hot, winter days that were too cold, and every night into the wee hours I read books. My face was rarely seen, always hidden behind a binding. I was nurtured on fiction. Now it is my turn to create some of my own. I live in sunny southern California with my beautiful wife and two perfect children (I may be biased). I write like I read, constantly. I studied anthropology at UCSB and medicine at SUNY Buffallo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Philip Coleman–Author of Mystery Novels for Teens

  1. Marie Laval says:

    Hello Philip and NW Harris! Thank you for a really interesting post. Your novel sounds wonderful and I can’t wait to read it. I love Brussels as a setting, it does make a nice change from the usual continental settings of Paris or the Côte d’Azur for France, or Rome and Venice for Italy. There are so many great cities with beautiful architecture and a fascinating past, Lyon for example, and I’m not just saying that because it’s my home town! do agree with your comment on marketing and promoting the book. It does take a lot of time and in my case, I still don’t know what I’m doing. Good luck with the book and the sequel.

  2. Indeed, Marie, Lyon is a lovely town. Great food and thecradle of movie-making. Not to mention the home of Interpol, which I have visited a few times with work (I work on wildlife trade and wildlife crime issues)

  3. sknicholls says:

    I really enjoyed this. I like that you actually interview your author about their specific work instead of having them complete a generic questionnaire. It shows much more thoughtfulness and devotion to the process.

  4. Yes indeed. Te generic questions have the advantage that you can compare and contrast the answers of different authors but it’s nice to adapt them personally for each interview. I’m learning from Neil.

  5. annetbell says:

    The interview model is informative and different. Good for you !. . . .namaste. . .. Anne

Leave a Reply

