Interview with Writer Suzanne de Montigny

theshadowoftheunicorn1600x2400

Today, I’m interviewing an exciting author of middle grade novels, Suzanne de Montigny. Suzanne’s first novel, The Shadow of the Unicorn: The Legacy was released earlier this year by Muse It Up Publishing. Readers, leave a comment for a chance to win a copy of Suzanne’s e-book. Suzanne, tell us about your novel.

Thanks for hosting me, Neil. The Shadow of the Unicorn: The Legacy is actually a childhood concoction. I wrote my first unicorn novella when I was 11 for a class writing project. It was supposed to be a story, but I got carried away and wrote six chapters. I’ve always treasured that story full of spelling mistakes and repetitions because somehow I sensed it was special. But what I forgot was that I had rewritten the first four chapters somewhere in my teens. Then, one day, while cleaning out the basement, I found it and was utterly intrigued. Five days later, I began writing, and two weeks after that, I was finished my first draft. Here is the back cover blurb.

A loud, hissing sound filled the air. The unicorns looked up, their eyes filled with horror.

Azaria, a unicorn colt, is intrigued when the young, clairvoyant dinosaur, Darius, foresees a terrifying change to their world. When a giant fireball smashes into the earth, the unicorns struggle to survive the hurricanes and starvation that follow. But nothing compares to the danger when the creatures-that-walk-on-two-legs settle in the valley, and their leader discovers the healing power in the unicorns’ horns. Greedy and ruthless, Ishmael will stop at nothing in his pursuit of wealth – even the complete extinction of the herd. Azaria must find a way to outsmart Ishmael before it’s too late.

And here is the booktrailer:

http://youtu.be/St9OsyK974o

What a great hook! It sounds like a novel that appeals to children young and old. I think stories like these can help kids develop a love for reading, and you’re never to grown up to enjoy a good fantasy. I’ve read your book and love the world you created. I’m excited to pass it on to my children next.

It’s a novel that makes young and old think. Some people are shocked by the deaths of unicorns, but as I point out to them, that’s what is happening right now in Africa to elephants and rhinos. They are being poached for their horns.

Tell us how you became an author. What was your journey?

As I said earlier, I really enjoyed writing as a child, but in all honesty, becoming an author was something I never planned. I was a music teacher in the public school system for over twenty years. I used to tell the kids stories for the last five minutes of class to get them to behave. It worked really well, but I didn’t think anything of it until people began asking me to write them down. Then next thing I knew, I was in a great writer’s group growing and developing. The Shadow of the Unicorn: The Legacy was accepted on my third submission. I was quite surprised and danced all day when I was sent the contract.

So what’s in the future? Are you working on anything right now?

Oh, am I working on stuff right now! I have an entire novel that I’m cleaning up about a child prodigy in classical violin growing up in a small town. Her father has just passed away and this mysterious fiddler appears at her father’s funeral. Within a few days, the fiddler bewitches the whole town with her Celtic music. When someone begins vandalising the town leaving dead and gutted birds as a calling card, only Kira knows who the real perpetrator is.

And of course, I’m rewriting the second of my unicorn trilogy.

Where we can find The Shadow of the Unicorn: The Legacy, your website and FB page?

Here are the links to buy:

https://museituppublishing.com/bookstore2/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=466&category_id=69&manufacturer_id=230&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=1

http://www.amazon.com/The-Shadow-Unicorn-Legacy-ebook/dp/B00AIVD5EE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1354909859&sr=8-1&keywords=the+shadow+of+the+unicorn%3A+the+legacy

http://store.kobobooks.com/Search/Query?Query=the+shadow+of+the+unicorn%3A+the+legacy

And here are my links to my blog, website, and FB page:

http://suzannesthoughtsfortheday.blogspot.ca

http://www.suzannedemontigny.com

https://www.facebook.com/unicorngirl 52

Suzanne, it’s been a pleasure talking to you. I’m always so pleased to meet authors who have such a vivid imagination and can tap into the magic most of people lose as we grow up. I can’t wait to read you next novel! Readers don’t forget to leave a comment to win a copy of Suzanne’s e-book.

Thanks, Neil. And I just wanted to say I’m reading your novel, Joshua’s Tree, and am thoroughly enjoying it. Talk about a vivid imagination! I’m passing it on to my boys after I’m done with it. It’s way too good.

SONY DSC

About nwharrisbooks

Born and raised in a small town in north Georgia, my imagination evolved under the swaying pines surrounding my family's log home. On summer days that were too hot, winter days that were too cold, and every night into the wee hours I read books. My face was rarely seen, always hidden behind a binding. I was nurtured on fiction. Now it is my turn to create some of my own. I live in sunny southern California with my beautiful wife and two perfect children (I may be biased). I write like I read, constantly. I studied anthropology at UCSB and medicine at SUNY Buffallo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Interview with Writer Suzanne de Montigny

  1. What a delightful surprise to see my interview up so fast! Thanks, Neil.

  2. KateB says:

    This book sounds great. In a time when the market seems saturated with vampires and werewolves – it’s fantastic to see a new novel about other creatures. I love unicorns! The interview was interesting to read too – Will have to read the book to see the parallels between elephants and unicorns 🙂

  3. Great interview! I’m guessing you get those violin ideas from real life… 😉

  4. Ellespeth says:

    Great interview! I really like the last part about current work – Celtic violin one, etc. Caught my interest right away. Thanks for the interview!
    Ellespeth

  5. Wonderful interview!! I haven’t had a chance to read it, but it is on my TBR list:) Great story for kids, because what kid doesn’t like unicorns? I also like the idea of preserving the unicorns from extinction:) This is such a great tie in for teachers.

  6. Suzanne, I’m reading The Shadow of the Unicorn right now. I love how you bring your characters to life. Congratulations!

  7. Thanks, Barbara! Guess I should get that teacher’s guide written!

Leave a Reply

