Run, don’t walk, to listen to Inside Creative Writing

Very interesting blog post. I started listening to the podcast mentioned here and was immediately hooked. Had to share this on my blog.

Live to Write - Write to Live

inside_creative_writing

If you’d like, you can listen to this post.

I am a writer, but I am not yet the writer I want to be.

I have had very little in the way of formal training. I do not have a college degree or an MFA. I have taken a few, scattered writing courses (most recently a class on writing fantasy at the wonderful Grub Street in Boston), but mostly I’ve cobbled together random bits and pieces – like a magpie collecting shiny things to adorn its nest.

Though my journey has followed a somewhat circuitous path, I believe that I have made progress. From a seven-year-old scribbling in a notebook that I pilfered from the supply closet at the bank where my dad was a VP, I have evolved into someone who makes her living with words – crafting content for my marketing clients, writing a column for…

View original post 961 more words

About nwharrisbooks

Born and raised in a small town in north Georgia, my imagination evolved under the swaying pines surrounding my family's log home. On summer days that were too hot, winter days that were too cold, and every night into the wee hours I read books. My face was rarely seen, always hidden behind a binding. I was nurtured on fiction. Now it is my turn to create some of my own. I live in sunny southern California with my beautiful wife and two perfect children (I may be biased). I write like I read, constantly. I studied anthropology at UCSB and medicine at SUNY Buffallo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Run, don’t walk, to listen to Inside Creative Writing

  1. feltenk says:

    Thanks so much for sharing! 😉

  2. feltenk says:

    Reblogged this on Keep Calm and Write On and commented:
    Unique spin on creative writing tips- def worth a listen!
    “I am in love with writing. Something about those 26 letters just amaze me.” – Brad Reed

  3. L. Marie says:

    I really enjoyed that podcast. Every writer is different. You do what you have to do (and what you have time to do) in order to improve.

  4. tchistorygal says:

    Congratulations on getting your book (s) published. I know it is quite an accomplishment. I have tried to write several books. None published, but the experience of writing was invigorating. I still want to accomplish that eventually. Nothing is coming right now, and I am loving blogging, AND writing Reviews! So I’ll enjoy reading yours if it’s an ebook. My shelves are full, and ebooks are so easy to cart around. oh yes — thanks for visiting my blog! 🙂 Marsha 🙂

Leave a Reply

