Happy Mother’s Day

20130512-092728.jpg

This is the gift my two children and I made for Mom this Mother’s Day. We picked flowers across the mountains of Southern CA (see pics of the flowers below in earlier posts) and dried them by pressing them between pieces of paper. Then we painted the canvas with acrylic paint and stuck the flowers to it with simple white glue. To keep it all together and make it last, we sprayed it with craft glaze (a whole can in multiple coats). If you zoom in you’ll notice pictures of the kids faces in the corners of the painting under the flowers. It was a fun art project with the kids and Mom loved it.

About nwharrisbooks

Born and raised in a small town in north Georgia, my imagination evolved under the swaying pines surrounding my family's log home. On summer days that were too hot, winter days that were too cold, and every night into the wee hours I read books. My face was rarely seen, always hidden behind a binding. I was nurtured on fiction. Now it is my turn to create some of my own. I live in sunny southern California with my beautiful wife and two perfect children (I may be biased). I write like I read, constantly. I studied anthropology at UCSB and medicine at SUNY Buffallo.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day

  1. barbtaub says:

    Beautiful! Mom will be delighted, I’m sure.

  2. L. Marie says:

    That’s gorgeous! What a lovely gift.

  3. feltenk says:

    So pretty and thoughtful!

  4. Kira says:

    That is absolutely lovely!!! I know she adore it 🙂 I always treasure the handmade gifts of loved ones!

Leave a Reply

