“Save The Cat”–A great book for writers and moviegoers

“Save the Cat” by Blake Snyder is a nonfiction book I’d recommend ever writer and moviegoer read. It is specifically written as a how-to book for screenwriting and was recommended by a writer friend of mine. I personally don’t write scripts, but find screenwriting books usually have some jewels in them that help me with my novels. While it doesn’t directly address the needs of a novel writer, Snyder’s book has lots of helpful information that can be utilized to help generate a better logline (and query), outline, and overall story. I personally feel their is a danger in trying to use anyone’s formula because unique is what stands out, but this book got my creative juices flowing. It is also a great book to read if you like to watch movies. I found myself breaking down the story in the movies I watched and learning more from them than I ever had before reading this book. Check it out and let me know what you think.

20130425-235048.jpg

About nwharrisbooks

Born and raised in a small town in north Georgia, my imagination evolved under the swaying pines surrounding my family's log home. On summer days that were too hot, winter days that were too cold, and every night into the wee hours I read books. My face was rarely seen, always hidden behind a binding. I was nurtured on fiction. Now it is my turn to create some of my own. I live in sunny southern California with my beautiful wife and two perfect children (I may be biased). I write like I read, constantly. I studied anthropology at UCSB and medicine at SUNY Buffallo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “Save The Cat”–A great book for writers and moviegoers

  1. jadereyner says:

    Interesting. I must say I would not normally considering reading a book aimed at screenwriters as I have often considered it to be a very different animal but the point you make is valid. We can all learn something from everyone so maybe I’ll put this one in the ‘To be read’ shelf in my brain!

  2. Beverly says:

    Well, since I’m a cat lover, the cover pulls me in. I think we can learn from every book we read, even one about scripts. Thanks for the info. Have a nice day.

  3. Okay, first of all, I love orange kittens. Secondly, that picture and book title are so clever. Third, I’ll have to check that book out and send this post to my mom! Thanks.

  4. karengadient says:

    I’ve used the Save the Cat structure for years (I used to write screenplays), although I’ve made my own tweaks to it. The books, website, and even the software they offer can be very useful. Worth a look for all fiction writers.

Leave a Reply

