Webook: A Query Experiment

I’m conducting a querying experiment via a website called Webook. It’s a query service that allows you to submit your query, which they proofread and send out to agents who specialize in your genre. At the moment, the service is free, so it seemed like a fun thing to try. Using a new book I’ve recently finished–a YA thriller called The Last Orphans–for the experiment, I submitted my query and the required chapter samples on Saturday. The website says the Webook staff are evaluating my material and will send it out to the agents I selected once they proofread it. I’ll keep you up to date as the experiment progresses. Webook claims 10% of the writers who use their service get an agent, which is impressive since the average agent only signs 1% or less of the writers who query them. If you want to check out the FAQs for the site, click http://www.webook.com/landing/AgentInbox-FAQ#what-is-agentInbox

About nwharrisbooks

Born and raised in a small town in north Georgia, my imagination evolved under the swaying pines surrounding my family's log home. On summer days that were too hot, winter days that were too cold, and every night into the wee hours I read books. My face was rarely seen, always hidden behind a binding. I was nurtured on fiction. Now it is my turn to create some of my own. I live in sunny southern California with my beautiful wife and two perfect children (I may be biased). I write like I read, constantly. I studied anthropology at UCSB and medicine at SUNY Buffallo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Webook: A Query Experiment

  1. jadereyner says:

    Sounds interesting – I’ll definitely check it out! Thanks for the tip. 🙂

  2. Tim Lyzen says:

    There has to be a catch, though…

  3. jowidy says:

    Any updates on this? I just sent out a few queries and am waiting for them to be ‘approved’. A little looking around shows not a whole lot of WEBOOK activity in the past, oh, 3 years.

    • Webook sent my query package out within two weeks of receiving it. No responses from agents yet, but perhaps it is too soon to pass judgement. Not sure I’d jump on this option right now because it could come across as query spamming if you know what I mean, but I thought it would be a fun experiment we all could learn from. Check back in in 6-8 weeks and I’ll let you know the progress.

Leave a Reply

